Persnickety Eater :: Sweet Potato Pancakes

Mmm… Thanksgiving in a Pancake!

Hmm… What’s a mommy to do when her offspring eschew vegetable matter in almost every form? HIDE IT!

So, I’m not proud of this, per se, but it has become a bit of a necessary evil. Hopefully it will be a temporrary measure. Besides, these really were delicious, I have to admit, and economical to boot.

While I’ve been avoiding dairy for the past couple months (and truly enjoying the results of this decision), I have found that a limited amount of milk or butter that is cooked or baked into something doesn’t seem to upset my stomach. I won’t drink a glass of milk or spread butter on a piece of bread – I’ll use soy, almond or coconut milk and soy-free, buttery spread from Earth Balance instead. Cheese and yogurt will turn me into a crampy mess if I eat even the tiniest bit, and I haven’t had the nerve to try ice cream.

In order to have the leeway to make a single meal that all of us can enjoy AND that I have the opportunity to add veggies to, I know I can almost alway count on pancakes, even though they usually contain milk and butter. I have to acknowledge that if I try to get “too weird” with the pancakes, altering them to be wholly vegan, I’ll be the only one eating them. So this recipe is a very traditional pancake recipe with the addition of a sweet potato and an adjustment of the milk.

Sweet Potato Pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons aluminum-free baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon palm sugar
  • 2 cups organic milk
  • 1 organic egg
  • 3 tablespoons organic butter, melted
  • 1 sweet potato, baked and mashed with a fork
  • A handful of praline pecans, powdered sugar, maple syrup or agave nectar (optional toppings)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. In a separate bowl, mix the milk, egg, butter and sweet potato. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients; mix until smooth. Add more milk if needed to thin the batter.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Flip when edges are dry and bubbles begin to form on top. Brown on both sides and serve hot with toppings of your choice.

I think I’d like this just as well with pumpkin in place of sweet potato. Or for a fun treat, use purple sweet potatoes! 

What vegetable would you try adding?

