Image

Stress. We all have it. The reasons, circumstances, or situations may vary, but everyone encounters times when they just sort of slide. Right. Over. The Edge.

Times like that call for an infusion of fun. It doesn’t have to be the “Oh-my-gawd-best-time-of-my-life” kind of fun, just something that brings joy to you in the midst of not-so-much.

One of my favorite ways to find joy is in creating a simple food dish that really delights both my visual senses and taste buds – okay, if it fits in the little “dietary plan” I’ve been concocting lately, well, so much the better.

My offering is simple and a bit like a little piece of Thanksgiving in the middle of the summer. Baked sweet potato cubes, crushed praline pecans, dried cranberries, a drizzle of olive oil and a dash of salt on a bed of Romaine lettuce. Not too much of any one ingredient – about five leaves of lettuce and a quarter cup of each topping – and you have a perfect little plate of happiness.

What’s your favorite way to reinfuse your life with fun?

