That's some serious salt ya got there!

There’s a running joke around my kitchen. I prepare a meal then I serve it to my husband – he’s a good enough sport to try just about anything once – or friends. Once they’ve tucked in, I ask for feedback. I’m not concerned about my feelings; I want honesty. More often than not, the response has been, “Needs more salt.”

Salt (as well as other simple foodstuffs like eggs, cheese and beef) has gotten a bad rap over the past several years. This seems to mostly be because of its inclusion in darned near EVERYTHING you can think of, even water! Because of the massive amounts of sodium we Americans consume unknowingly by way of our highly processed diets, many people are faced with hypertension (high blood pressure). The standard answer from the “professionals” is to simply reduce your total intake. All in all, not a bad suggestion, especially if you are able to prepare your foods at home.

When you begin preparing your own foods, however, you quickly realize that many foods can be pretty bland, even with good herbs and spices. What to do? Make a substitution: salt for salt.

What? Have I lost my mind? Nope.

Just take a look at the salts that are available:
Table salt (contains iodine… it’s also processed with bleach and other chemicals)
Kosher salt
Himalayan Pink Sea Salt (lovely natural coloring)
Celtic Sea Salt® (from France, so of course I adore it)
Real Salt® (a new find that I’m heartily enjoying – and it’s Kosher-certified)

In moderation, any of the salts beyond table salt can significantly enhance your food as well as provide valuable trace minerals. Be stingy at first, adding just a little more at a time – you’ll likely find that an amount well below what it is in most prepared food is quite perfectly palatable!

