I have been blessed… with a picky child.  I thought that once I had conquered many of my own personal picky eating habits that I would be free and clear to adventure forth, turning my back once and for all on the daily problems that come with having a picky eater in the house.  Not so, not so, not so…

Now, I will say that my son is only a toddler, so it’s unsurprising that he’s not a prodigious eater.  However, I have noticed that he is far less adventurous than many of my friends’ children.  But he didn’t start out that way – among his first foods were sweet potatoes, broccoli, hummus and fresh cut fruits.

Unfortunately, his menu is primarily cheese, meat, bread and dried fruits.  My least favorite development is that he seems to be most open to trying foods from fast food restaurants!  It’s not that I allow him (or myself) to eat there often, but trips that take us too far from home have necessitated the occasional trip to McD’s or BK, Chick-fil-A or Moe’s.  I was least offended by Moe’s, where he eats their chicken, cheese quesadilla, chips and sour cream.  None of it is battered or deep fried, so I thought it was OK.

Luckily for me, Moe’s has a nice little calculator on their site – My son’s “little” meal breaks down as follows:

Calories: 563
Fat: 29g
Saturated fat: 15.5g (78% DV for an adult)
Total Carbs: 56g (None from fiber)
Protein: 21g

This “Mini Me” meal consists of a 8-inch flour tortilla with cheese, chicken, sour cream and a side of chips.  Not to mention the beverage (usually three-quarters of a child’s cup of water with a tiny bit of their “fruit” punch).  I think I’m moderately horrified.  No, I am actually really bummed that I hadn’t taken the time to look that up before now.

The whole point of this exercise is to illustrate how seldom we really take the time to understand our food choices.  While I don’t think it should rule our lives to the exclusion of our mental health, this kind of examination is exactly what is necessary for us to progress forward in a healthful way.

