Even though most of my childhood diet consisted of burgers, fries, hot dogs, and macaroni & cheese, there were two foods that stood out: Corned Beef Hash and Liverwurst.

I still have no idea how I ended up eating either of those foods.  They were so far outside my “normal” range of foods that it was always a topic of conversation in my family.  To make matters worse, I didn’t like homemade or deli versions – only those made by Armour and Oscar Meyer, respectively.

Since I have become more aware of the health hazards of saturated fats, I only rarely consume these foods nowadays.  I generally have one can/tube or less per year.  The hash I press in layer upon layer of paper towels to remove excess grease (though I do put one slice of deli-style American cheese on top).  The liverwurst I can’t do anything about, so I prefer to find someone to share it with (not the easiest thing to do).

Why does this matter to anyone else?  Because there’s one small – but legitimate – reason I continue eating those foods – I like them!  I don’t think it’s always necessary to forever say you’ll never again eat a particular food.  Without medical justification, no one is holding you accountable except yourself.  I have one friend who cannot consume caffeine for medical reasons – okay, no more chocolate or soda makes sense.  But I do not have high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes or any other condition that might cause me to be concerned about the small amounts I consume of certain foods.

So all hail the hash!  (Maybe it’s high time I go find a healthful recipe and cook it myself, eh?)

