Baking Lessons from the School of the Eternally (Insanely) Optimistic Chef*

(*Note: I eschew the moniker “baker” in respectful deference to all the true bakers of the world. I am not worthy. I should probably offer the same respect for the¬†title “chef” because I haven’t earned it in any formal way. Still, I’m far more accomplished at meal foods than baked goods, so let me have my little fantasy, m’kay?)

Aside: In an attempt to get more use out of my nook color, I’m composing this post via the WordPress app on the Android platform. So far, it’s actually not too bad. It may mean, however, that there are no pictures this time… We shall see.

Um… Okay. That’s how it’s gonna be, huh?

Alright… Moving on…

This was another last second muffin attempt. I don’t know why I try this over and over – it never works. But I did at least look up muffin recipe RATIOS this time so they turned out better than the last batch. I will eat them even if no one else in the house will. Punks.

Banana-Chocolate Muffins

Dry Ingredients:
1 1/2 c all purpose flour
1/2 c coconut flour
1 t baking powder
1/4 c baking cocoa powder
1 T flax-chia meal (I grind my own)
1/4 c brown sugar

Wet Ingredients:
1 egg
3/4 c applesauce
2 bananas
1/2 c raw cashews
1/4 c raw pepitas
1/2-3/4 c chocolate almond milk

Put the cashews and pepitas together in a large bowl with hot water – set aside to soak.

Mix all dry ingredients, form a well in the center, then set aside.

Crack egg into large mixing bowl then add bananas and mash well. Add applesauce and mix thoroughly. Drain cashews and pepitas and place the two together in a small food processor. Grind well, adding some of the other wet ingredients as needed to get it into a paste-like consistency. Mix with remaining wet ingredients except almond milk.

Stir wet ingredients into dry but don’t over mix. When combined, add almond milk until it has an almost batter-like consistency, not too firm, not too runny.

Fill muffin tins 2/3 or more full – these really don’t rise much. I used parchment paper cups with no grease or non-stick spray and they came right out, no sticking at all! (This was probably the biggest success of the whole recipe. Facepalm.)

These are quite dense muffins, but they’re not bad. And pretty healthy, no oil, decent protein and other nutrients. Some day I might actually get to the point where I can offer bonafide nutrition statistics. One day… Maybe.

Happy Eating!!

