Wait! Those don’t look like “bars”!! Read on, Dear Reader…

“Accidentally Successful” was the working title for this post. I made a batch of what were supposed to be blueberry muffins. They weren’t, exactly, and I was bummed about the perceived baking fail but heartened because I’d whipped up a delightful spread in a vain effort to make the “muffins” taste better. Baking is not my fort√©… But I often wish it was. More than anything, I’d love to find a muffin / breakfast bar recipe that satisfies both me and my sons so that I can stop having to buy cereal bars in the grocery store. Perhaps what I really need is just a little more patience and perseverance…

I humbly took a sample of my concoction to a friend’s house for her input – I had baked the last of the leftover batter that wouldn’t fit in the muffin cups in an oval ceramic baking dish so it was a flat piece rather than a muffin shape. She liked the texture and flavor well enough to eat and suggested I just rethink the output as bars instead of muffins. After returning home, I tried the muffins again, this time cold from the fridge with a generous slathering of Earth Balance’s crazy good soy-free buttery spread. What. Do. You. Know? It was GOOD! (Even better, the paper muffin liner didn’t stick too badly as long as I pulled it off slowly enough.)

Fail averted – I actually did have more to post than just the spread… But I’ll throw that in, too, because it’s really yummy!

Blueberry Breakfast Bars

Dry Ingredients
3/4 c unbleached, all-purpose flour
3/4 c whole wheat flour
1/2 c rolled oats or 5-Grain hot cereal
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp salt

Wet Ingredients
1 large banana
1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
1 egg
1/2 c raw walnuts
1/2 c sweet potato, shredded
1T chia seeds
1/2 c milk of your preference
1 c blueberries

Blend dry ingredients well in a large mixing bowl. Mash the banana in another bowl then add the remaining wet ingredients (except the milk and blueberries) in a smaller mixing bowl. Make a well in the dry ingredients and incorporate the wet, stirring thoroughly. Add milk last, just enough to make the batter liquid enough to fold in the blueberries without smooshing them all. Finally, fold in the blueberries then pour into a greased shallow baking dish. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 375-degrees. Allow to cool completely or even refrigerate overnight and slice apart into breakfast bars. Enjoy with butter or almond butter.

Chocolate-Almond Spread

2 Tbsp raw almond butter
2 Tbsp blackstrap molasses
2 tsp raw cacao

Mix. Spread. Enjoy! Refrigerate leftovers… if there are any!

